1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar

Ask An Expert Firewise Virtual Workshop Series

Hour-long workshops designed to connect wildland fire stakeholders with subject matter experts.

The Firewise virtual workshop series provides conference quality, free learning opportunities for wildfire stakeholders, by connecting them with leading researchers and practitioners in a live interactive format. Each session is an hour-long and features a wildfire related topic that closes with questions received directly from participants.

Register for August's free virtual workshop

Get to Know the Home Ignition Zone, Tuesday, August 16, 3 pm EDT
(1 pm MDT)
Gary Marshal, NFPA Wildfire Field Rep

Defensible spaceDiscover the three distinct areas surrounding structures within a home ignition zone and identify how mitigation and maintenance in each section plays a distinct role in improving survivability during a wildfire. This in-depth look into the three unique distances encompassing a home will have you viewing the landscape through a different set of eyes.

Register now

2016 calendar

  • Tuesday, August 16 - Get to Know the Home Ignition Zone, 3 pm EDT (1 pm MDT)
  • Thursday, September 15 - Understanding Insurance in the Wildland Urban Interface, 2 pm EDT (12 pm MDT)  
  • Tuesday, October 11 - Community Risk Reduction Success Stories, 1 pm EDT (11 am MDT)  
  • Wednesday, November 9 - Wildland Urban Legends, 3 pm EDT (1 pm MDT)

Watch July's workshop

Power of Embers
Steve Quarles, PH.D., IBHS Research Center
Learn about the impacts embers are capable of and the little things around the home that are vulnerable. Quarles will share some information on why and how IBHS is doing wildfire ember research at the lab in South Carolina.


FW Virtual Workshop Testimonials